

## A PROCLAMATION ESTABLISHING MAY 2025 AS BUILDING SAFETY MONTH

**WHEREAS,** Arapahoe County recognizes that our growth and strength as a community depends on the safety and essential role that our homes, buildings and infrastructure play, both in everyday life and when disasters strike, and;

WHEREAS, our confidence in the resilience of these buildings that make up our community is achieved through the devotion of vigilant guardians—architects, engineers, builders, tradespeople, design professionals, laborers, plumbers and others in the construction industry—who work year-round to ensure the safe construction of buildings, and;

**WHEREAS**, these professionals are dedicated members of the International Code Council, a nonprofit that brings together local, state, territorial, tribal and federal officials who are experts in the built environment to create and implement the highest-quality codes and standards to protect us in the buildings where we live, learn, work and play, and;

**WHEREAS,** our building staff consists of talented, dedicated professionals who, in 2024, processed more than 7,000 building permits and performed more than 32,000 inspections in more than 17,000 stops; and

**WHEREAS**, the International Code Council sponsors Building Safety Month to remind the public about the critical role of the largely unknown protectors of public safety in our communities—our code officials—who assure us of safe, sustainable and affordable buildings that are essential to our prosperity, and;

WHEREAS, "Game On!," the theme for Building Safety Month 2025, encourages us all to get involved and raise awareness about building safety on a personal, local and global scale

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Arapahoe County Board of Commissioners do hereby proclaim the month of May 2025 as **BUILDING SAFETY MONTH** and call upon residents to celebrate these professionals in appreciation of the commitment to our built environment safety.

Commissioner Carrie Warren-Gully

Carre Warren - Gy

Commissioner Jeff Baker

Chair Pro Tem

Commissioner Leslie Summey

Commissioner Jessica Campbell

Chair of the Board

Commissioner Rhonda Fields