RESOLUTION NO. 22 It was moved by Commissioner and duly seconded by Commissioner to adopt the following Resolution:
WHEREAS, pursuant to C.R.S. § 30-15-401, the Board of County Commissioners of Arapahoe County has the power to adopt ordinances for the control of matters of local concern; and
WHEREAS, pursuant to C.R.S. § 30-15-401(1)(n.7), matters of local concern include prohibiting or restricting the sale, use and possession of fireworks, including permissible fireworks as defined in Sections 24-33.5-2001(5) and (11); and
WHEREAS, pursuant to the above-referenced statutory authority, on May 24, 2022, the Board of County Commissioners adopted Arapahoe County Ordinance No. 2022-01 prohibiting the sale and use of fireworks within unincorporated Arapahoe County; and
WHEREAS, under the authority provided in C.R.S. § 30-15-401(1)(n.7), and as stated in Ordinance No. 2022-01, the ban on the sale and use of fireworks shall only apply during the period of May 15 through July 5 if the Board of County Commissioners adopts a resolution that includes a finding of high fire danger, based on competent evidence; and
WHEREAS; at a public hearing held on today's date competent evidence of high fire danger within unincorporated Arapahoe County was submitted by the Arapahoe County Sheriff's Office to the Board of County Commissioners; and
WHEREAS, in order to preserve the public peace, health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Arapahoe County, the Board of County Commissioners hereby takes the following action:
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Arapahoe County, that the Board hereby finds that high fire danger exists now and through July 5, 2022, within unincorporated Arapahoe County, and, further, declares and orders that Arapahoe County Ordinance No. 2022-01 shall be in full force and effect during the period between May 24, 2022 and July 5, 2022, unless, and to the extent, this resolution is subsequently rescinded by further action of the Board.
The vote was:
Commissioner Baker,; Commissioner Holen,; Commissioner Jackson,; Commissioner Sharpe,; Commissioner Warren-Gully,